Review of The Worldship Humility

September 7, 2019 Reviews 0

Review of The Worldship HumilityThe Worldship Humility (The Code Trilogy #1) by R.R. Haywood, Colin Morgan
Published by Audible Studios on January 31, 2019
Genres: Science Fiction
Format: Audiobook
Goodreads

The Worldship Humility is the start of The Code trilogy, written exclusively for audio by sci-fi author R. R. Haywood. Narrator Colin Morgan (best known for playing the title character BBC’s fantasy series Merlin) brings the colourful characters and treacherous escapades of The Worldship Humility to life, a gripping space adventure which will appeal to fans of Ready Player One, Bladerunner and Haywood’s previous best-selling works, Extracted and The Undead.

Summary:

It’s been 120 years since the 50 or so worldships containing the few million survivors set off after planet Earth was destroyed by a meteor.

On the Worldship Humility, Sam, an Airlock Operative, is bored. Living in space should be full of adventure, except it isn’t, and he fills his time hacking 3-D movie posters.

Petty thief Yasmine Dufont is also from the WS Humility, but she is not bored. Growing up in the Elfors, the lawless lower levels of the ship, has seen her surrounded by violence and squalor since birth, and now she wants out. She wants to escape to the luxury of the Ab-Spa on top of WS Abstinence, where they eat real food instead of rats and synth cubes.

Meanwhile, the sleek-hulled, unmanned Gagarin has come back from punching out ahead of the fleet in the ever-continuing search for a new home. Nearly all hope is lost that a new planet will ever be found, until the Gagarin returns with a code of information that suggests a habitable planet has been found. This news should be shared with the whole fleet, but a few rogue captains want to keep the information to themselves and colonise the new planet.

When Yasmine inadvertently steals the code, she and Sam become caught up in a dangerous game of murder, corruption, political wrangling and...porridge, with sex-addicted Detective Zhang Woo hot on their heels, his own life at risk if he fails to get the code back.

This was a pretty amazing story set aboard a colony ship headed for a new world after Earth was destroyed. It had pretty good characters and it kept my attention the entire time. The only drawback was over-the-top profanity, and the fact that it kindof ends with a cliffhanger. The narrator did a super job doing all very distinctive voices and made the book much more enjoyable. I’m very much looking forward to the next book.

Comments are closed.