Review of the Red Fox Clan (Royal Ranger)

September 6, 2018 Reviews 0 ★★★★½

Review of the Red Fox Clan (Royal Ranger)The Red Fox Clan by John Flanagan
Published by Listening Library on 8-22-18
Length: 11:16
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Format: Audiobook
» Buy on Amazon
» Buy on Audible
Goodreads
four-half-stars

#1 New York Times bestselling author John Flanagan returns to the world of Ranger's Apprentice, continuing the story arc starring fan favorites, Will and Maddie (The Royal Ranger: A New Beginning).

Picking up where The Royal Ranger: A New Beginning left off, this next installment continues the story arc featuring young apprentice, Maddie, and the student-turned-master, Will Treaty. The time has come for the next generation to assume the mantle and become protectors of the kingdom of Araluen.

After passing her third-year assessment as a ranger's apprentice, Maddie is called home to Castle Araluen. Forced to keep her ranger training a secret, Maddie feels trapped by the monotony of castle life and longs to find a way out. But there are whisperings of a new threat to the kingdom. The mysterious Red Fox Clan, a group of anarchists all donning fox masks, have threatened Castle Araluen and question Princess Cassandra and Madelyn's succession to the throne. Will they succeed in unseating Cassandra and Madelyn and take the throne for themselves?

Bestselling author of the Ranger's Apprentice and Brotherband series, John Flanagan returns in the captivating follow-up to The Royal Ranger: A New Beginning. Perfect for fans of Tolkien, Redwall, and Game of Thrones!

Another really good book in the Ranger’s Apprentice series. In this book, Araluen is finally in peril. It has all the same elements of the previous books, and is very well done. It portrays Maddy very well as a talented, but still learning ranger apprentice who still makes mistakes. The only downsides are that Will isn’t in the book much, and the book ends rather abruptly with “to be continued”. It would have been better to release the entire story as one book. But never-the-less, it is an excellent read and great story.

four-half-stars

About John Flanagan

John Flanagan grew up in Sydney, Australia hoping to be a writer. It wasn’t until he wrote a highly uncomplimentary poem about a senior executive at the agency where he worked, however, that his talent was revealed. It turned out one of the company directors agreed with John’s assessment of the executive, and happily agreed to train John in copywriting.

After writing advertising copy for the next two decades, John teamed with an old friend to develop a television sitcom, Hey Dad!, which went on to air for eight years.

John Flanagan’s bestselling Ranger’s Apprentice adventure series originally comprised twenty short stories, which John wrote to encourage his twelve-year-old son, Michael, to enjoy reading. Michael was a small boy, and all his friends were bigger and stronger than he was. John wanted to show him that reading was fun, and heroes weren’t necessarily big and muscular. Now in his mid-twenties, Michael is six feet tall, broad-shouldered and powerful – but he still loves The Ranger’s Apprentice.

The series has come a long way since then. Now sold to eighteen countries, the series has appeared on the New York Times Best Sellers List and is regularly shortlisted in children’s book awards in Australia and overseas.

John lives with his wife, Leonie, in the Sydney beachside suburb of Manly. He is currently writing further titles in the Ranger’s Apprentice series. In addition to their son, they have two grown daughters and four grandsons.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.