Review of the Legends of Muirwood Series

September 20, 2018 Reviews 0 ★★★★★

Review of the Legends of Muirwood SeriesLegends of Muirwood (Books 1-3) by Jeff Wheeler
Series: Legends of Muirwood
Published by 47North, Brilliance Audio Genres: Fantasy
Format: eBook, Audiobook
» Buy on Amazon

In the ancient and mystical land of Muirwood, Lia has known only a life of servitude. Labeled a “wretched,” an outcast unwanted and unworthy of respect, Lia is forbidden to realize her dream to read or write. All but doomed, her days are spent toiling away as a kitchen slave under the charge of the Aldermaston, the Abbey’s watchful overseer. But when an injured squire named Colvin is abandoned at the kitchen’s doorstep, an opportunity arises. The nefarious Sheriff Almaguer soon starts a manhunt for Colvin, and Lia conspires to hide Colvin and change her fate. In the midst of a land torn by a treacherous war between a ruthless king and a rebel army, Lia finds herself on an ominous journey that will push her to wonder if her own hidden magic is enough to set things right. At once captivating, mysterious, and magic-infused, The Wretched of Muirwood takes the classic fantasy adventure and paints it with a story instantly epic, and yet, all its own.

This is truly one of the best fantasies I have read in a long time. It has a young girl who slowly discovers who she is, her destiny, and her powers. The world-building is great and the plot is a real page-turner. It also has lots of strong characters who felt real and relatable. I enjoyed every minute of it and am now reading the second series (Banished of Muirwood).

Comments are closed.