Review of The Fire Sisters by A.G. Henley

September 21, 2015 Reviews 0 ★★★★★

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review of The Fire Sisters by A.G. HenleyThe Fire Sisters by A.G. Henley
Series: Brilliant Darkness #2
on 9-25-2015
Format: eARC
» Buy on Amazon

Read the final book in the bestselling Brilliant Darkness series.

Fennel and Peree are finally together and safe from the Scourge in the protected village of Koolkuna. But on the day of their partnering ceremony the children of the village are stolen away—Fenn’s loyal companion, Kora, among them.

Fenn wants to bring the children home, especially as the villagers seem to blame Peree and her for the tragedy. Only since the death of her own family, she’s terrified a wrong move on her part will lead to the loss of others she loves.

Fenn and Peree join a small search party led by rival Kaiya, the one person who stands a chance of finding the children thanks to her mysterious past. As they travel away from the safe waters of Koolkuna and into the Scourge-infested wilds, Fenn endures Kai’s scorn, her subtle designs on Peree, and the squabbling of the group. But nothing in her life so far has prepared her for the fierce warrior women who will steal others’ children to preserve their own existence—the Fire Sisters.
If Fenn is to survive the threat of the Scourge, rescue the children from the Sisters, and have a hope of making a life with Peree in Koolkuna, she must face her fear of failure and loss and become the leader she’s destined to be.

In this final book in the Brilliant Darkness series, it opens with Fenn and Peree about to get married, and then everything goes wrong. The children of Koolkuna are stolen away by the Fire Sisters, a group of females who live in a mountain fortress. Fenn, Peree, Kai, and others leave on a journey to go get the children back.

This was a real page turner and easy read for me. There was so much I loved about this book: Fenn’s growth as a leader, Kai’s secrets and eventual heroism and friendship, the journey through forest and tree tops, the challenge Fenn’s group presented to the Fire Sisters, the plans to escape with the children, and more. There is so much tied back to the first two books where we see familiar characters and then see them grow into something great. And of course the mythology continues…the sickness, the runa, and even an underground society (though we don’t see much of them). There were so many great themes here… what it means to be a leader, what friendship is all about, and what family would sacrifice for their loved ones, what the Fire Sisters must confront with a changing world.

This was a great conclusion for me and I really enjoyed it. My only gripe is that this is the end…I really wished the world was explored in more books…like will the world ever be free of the sickness and rebuild, what will happen to the sick ones, more about the underground people, what the future of the Fire Sisters is like, etc. But I’m so glad I got to read this and it is one of my new favorites.


About A.G. Henley

A.G. Henley is the author of the BRILLIANT DARKNESS series. The first novel in the series, THE SCOURGE, was a finalist for the 2013 Next Generation Indie Book Award.

A.G. is also a clinical psychologist, which means people either tell her their life stories on airplanes, or avoid her at parties when they’ve had too much to drink. Neither of which she minds. When she’s not writing fiction or shrinking heads, she can be found herding her children and their scruffy dog, Guapo, to various activities while trying to remember whatever she’s inevitably forgotten to tell her husband. She lives in Denver, Colorado.

Comments are closed.