Review of The Circuit: The Complete Saga

June 11, 2018 Reviews 0 ★★★★

Review of The Circuit: The Complete SagaThe Circuit: The Complete Saga Series: The Circuit
Published by Diversion Books on 10/31/2017
Genres: Science Fiction
Pages: 822
Format: eBook
ยป Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

USA Today Bestseller Rhett C. Bruno's debut sci-fi series is a gritty, space-opera epic perfect for fans of The Expanse!

Earth is a dying planet. To survive, humanity founds the Circuit, a string of colonies across the solar system, dedicated to mining resources vital to preserving what remains of mankind. Here there are no heroes or villains, only those willing to do what's necessary to survive.

The New Earth Tribunal, a powerful religious faction, has risen to rule the Circuit. They believe a Spirit within the Earth will one day appear and welcome humanity back home. Following a string of seemingly random attacks, the Tribunal suspects its mortal enemy, the Ceresians, have again rallied to challenge their absolute rule. But a new, sinister threat has arisen--and it plans to bring down the Tribunal once and for all.

Join an unlikely band of would-be saviors--the Tribunal's best spy, a roguish Ceresian mercenary, a subservient android and a disgraced general--as they are drawn into a conspiracy destined to change the Circuit forever.

"Bruno has crafted a complex, multi-dimensional story that combines the best of his genre with age-old truths--and quandaries--about humanity, politics, religion, family, and, yes, love." -Portland Book Review

This series had a really slow start. Initially it just covers the somewhat villains of the story, Cassius and ADIM. I didn’t find much to like about them and didn’t care about them at all. Eventually the story introduces more likable characters like Talon and Sage, and the story finally took off. It is a bit confusing about what the circuit is, and the arks, different factions, etc. I found the story to be very entertaining, page-turning (especially book 2 and 3), and overall a good read. Sage and Talon both ended up being really great characters. The tribunes were flat and one-dimensional, which is somewhat of a shame. It ends on a fairly good resolution, though the author changed his mind at the last second to allow for a fourth book, which I thought was a mistake.

four-stars
Comments are closed.