Review of Brotherband Slaves of Socorro

June 18, 2015 Uncategorized 0 ★★★★★

Review of Brotherband Slaves of SocorroSlaves of Socorro by John Flanagan
Series: Brotherband Chronicles #4
Published by Philomel Books on 7-15-2014
Genres: Adventure, Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 462
Format: eBook
» Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

From the author of the mega-selling Ranger's Apprentice!

Hal and his fellow Herons have returned home to Skandia after defeating the pirate captain Zavac and reclaiming Skandia's most prized artifact, the Andomal. With their honor restored, the Herons turn to a new mission: tracking down an old rival turned bitter enemy. Tursgud—leader of the Shark Brotherband and Hal's constant opponent—has turned from a bullying youth into a pirate and slave trader. After Tursgud captures twelve Araluen villagers to sell as slaves, the Heron crew sails into action . . . with the help of one of Araluen's finest Rangers!

In this fourth book in the Brotherband Chronicles, a new battle unfolds as old rivalries are renewed, peace treaties are put to the test, and the action builds to a pulse-pounding finale. Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings, T.H. White’s The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon series, and George R. R. Martin’s Game of Thrones / A Song of Ice and Fire series.
Praise for Brotherband 4: Slaves of Socorro:

"A sweeping novel of adventure, written with wit and a sure sense of storytelling." —Booklist

In Slaves of Socorro, the Heron crew are sent to spend a year helping patrol Araluen. While there, a renegade Skanadian captures from Araluens and sells them as slaves. Hal and his shipmates must infiltrate the slave market and free the Araluens.

This series really continues to impress me. There was a lot of great action here, great character development, and just plain fun. The inclusion of Gilan brings some needed Araluen flair to the book. While there are the crew of Tursgud, the Araluens, and the Socorroians, the story is centermost about the Heron and her crew. It was wonderful to see the interaction between Thorn, Lydia, Hal, and the rest. The ending was somewhat expected, but done in a completely unexpected way. I really enjoyed how the author wrapped up the story with Tursgud.

Overall this was a great 5 star book for me, and I’m already reading Scorpian Mountain.

five-stars

About John Flanagan

John Flanagan grew up in Sydney, Australia hoping to be a writer. It wasn’t until he wrote a highly uncomplimentary poem about a senior executive at the agency where he worked, however, that his talent was revealed. It turned out one of the company directors agreed with John’s assessment of the executive, and happily agreed to train John in copywriting.

After writing advertising copy for the next two decades, John teamed with an old friend to develop a television sitcom, Hey Dad!, which went on to air for eight years.

John Flanagan’s bestselling Ranger’s Apprentice adventure series originally comprised twenty short stories, which John wrote to encourage his twelve-year-old son, Michael, to enjoy reading. Michael was a small boy, and all his friends were bigger and stronger than he was. John wanted to show him that reading was fun, and heroes weren’t necessarily big and muscular. Now in his mid-twenties, Michael is six feet tall, broad-shouldered and powerful – but he still loves The Ranger’s Apprentice.

The series has come a long way since then. Now sold to eighteen countries, the series has appeared on the New York Times Best Sellers List and is regularly shortlisted in children’s book awards in Australia and overseas.

John lives with his wife, Leonie, in the Sydney beachside suburb of Manly. He is currently writing further titles in the Ranger’s Apprentice series. In addition to their son, they have two grown daughters and four grandsons.

Comments are closed.